Creating hybrid world setting

Introduction

We have been put into groups and we are going to use all of our ideas to create a hybrid civilization. We will create the architecture, equipment and environment. We will also be coming up with a backstory for this world with the mix of Imperial China, Victorian era, and Cyberpunk/Neo Tokyo. I will mainly be looking at idea for equipment for our hybrid civilization.

Backstory

An experiment involving time travel has gone wrong causing the timeline to be disrupted causing space time rifts sending three different timelines into one place. This lead to a lot of confusion and people not being able to comprehend what has happened, the city is split up into three different gangs based from their main timeline. The city is a mixture of all the themes.

Equipment

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/402016704231737453/

The idea of a cane sword with a futuristic look to the blade, giving off the Victorian look with a Neo Tokyo look to the blade. The black and gold look is what I would like to take from this image

Pin on Epic Weapons
https://www.pinterest.at/pin/784893041284749814/

This is the look I think would be good for the blade of the cane sword as I think it gives off a neo look and we can give a glowing effect, I may change the colour to green instead of blue to represent the gemstone Jade.

Traditional chinese dragon Royalty Free Vector Image
https://www.vectorstock.com/royalty-free-vector/traditional-chinese-dragon-vector-21790272
seamless traditional auspicious chinese mesh pattern | Chinese patterns,  Chinese design, Cultural patterns
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/360428776407672712/

Keeping with the black and gold colour scheme I will add a Chinese dragon and patterns to the cane so that I have all the different eras in one.

VINTAGE 1800's VICTORIAN ENGLISH MADE BROWN LEATHER BROWN CANVAS SUITCASE  CASE | Vintage briefcase, Brown canvas, How to make brown
https://www.pinterest.es/pin/344877283939254252/

I would also like to have a Victorian looking brief case with a glowing Chinese dragon on it so there is a mix of the Neo Tokyo and the imperial China look

Learn How To Design A Chinese Fire Dragon In Photoshop - 123RF
https://blog.123rf.com/learn-how-to-design-a-chinese-fire-dragon-in-photoshop/

This is the dragon look I would hope to have on the briefcase and I really like the orange-yellow glow, the inside of the briefcase with have one of the red patterns I looked at earlier.

A Futuristic Stopwatch. Very, very cool. | Pocket watch, Magical jewelry, Watches  for men
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/627196685577020852/
Doctor Who The Masters Fob Watch | getDigital
https://www.getdigital.eu/Doctor-Who-The-Masters-Fob-Watch.html
Exquisite Bronze Chinese Zodiac Series Design Men Women Meaningful Quartz Pocket  Watch With Chain Gift Relogio De Bolso|pocket watch|pocket watches with  chainquartz pocket watch - AliExpress
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32682585835.html

I would like to create a pocket watch with a Neo Tokyo/Cyberpunk look to the clock. When the pocket watch is closed it will have a Chinese dragon on the outside, so I have all of the themes in one.

Red telephone box - Wikipedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_telephone_box

I would like to make a phone box as my modular asset, it will have a neon light going around it saying “telephone” and it will also be red and gold with imperial Chinese patterns on it such as the ones above.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-11.png

The lights will look similar to the one I made in another workshop, I think this will be useful for my project and one of the genres is Neo Tokyo.

Here is the size of my phone box next to the character in unreal so that you can visualize the size compared to a person/your in game character.

Before I did anything I made a grey rectangle in the size that I thought would be suitable and I compared it to the character in unreal.

Chinese Art Traditional Style Sliding Wooden Door with Art Glass - China  Exterior Doors, Wood Door
https://forest-bright.en.made-in-china.com/product/iXAQDdlFXmpK/China-Chinese-Art-Traditional-Style-Sliding-Wooden-Door-with-Art-Glass.html

I have decided that I am going to make my doors on my phone box look like these, this is so that I can get the chinse look to the doors.

I have stared making the phone box, I used a cube and deleted the faces I don’t want, such as the sides as I want to make my own patterns and side pieces.

I am making the pattern first and then I will be adding a sheet in the middle, so that it looks similar to my reference image.

I duplicated the pattern and put it on all sides, I then did the same thing with the sheet in the middle of the pattern. I added a handle to the door and I wanted to get the chinse temple look to the handle

Rusty Handle Of Doors Of Chinese Temple Stock Photo - Download Image Now -  iStock
https://www.istockphoto.com/photo/rusty-handle-of-doors-of-chinese-temple-gm1130708348-299133712

This is the handle I had in mind, as this is an old temple handle.

I started my briefcase by creating a rectangular box, this was simple as I just started with a cube and changed it into the shape I wanted.

I used extrusions to create the handle of the briefcase, I wanted to go for a different look to a normal briefcase but nothing too extreme.

I then made the clips that the the case closed, textures will play a big part in this model.

I started making my pocket watch by cutting a circle in half and then shaped how I wanted it to look.

I have made the inside by using extrusions to create the look I want.

I have now made the hatch for the watch by duplicating the watch and taking off what I don’t need.

I am having problems at the moment as I am unable to texture my model, for some reason I cannot add any colour or textures to any of my models.

Evaluation

It was a challenge to create my own assets from my own Ideas but it was very enjoyable, I think this has helped me understand things better and I have shown myself that I can make things the way I want them to be. I currently am unable to finish my assets as I don’t have access to the things I need. When/if I am able to finish I will update this blog accordingly.

Leave a comment